New Student Leadership Team Appointed

One of the skills we aim to develop in our students is that of leadership, it features in our LORIC work, which you may see in the reflections your child completes in their planner each week.

Last term, Year 10 students were invited to apply to join the new Year 11 Student Leadership Team and a shortlist of 16 were invited to interview last week.

The breadth of students at an excellent standard were the best I have seen in my 13 years at the school. Right from the important skill of being able to shake hands whilst looking the other person in the eye, making that great first impression, through to holding a conversation and articulating something important to the students.

Our new team spoke for the first time in whole school assembly this week, where they were introduced by the outgoing Head Girl Hattie Leslie-Miller and Head Boy Dan Lee, and were able to share their ambitions for the coming year.

Our new Head Girl, Connie Holmes commented: “I decided to apply for the Student Leadership Team because I think it is a great opportunity to present new ideas and also a chance to help lead a team.  Since being in Year 7, I have gained confidence through taking part in the school productions and having support from my teachers.  I am really looking forward to representing the students and giving back to our community”. Our new Head Boy, Aaron Spelman commented: “It is a real honour to have been chosen to be Head Boy and to be part of the Student Leadership Team.  It will give me a real opportunity to work on community projects alongside the other students in the team.  I would like to thank The Marches School for giving me this opportunity and I am really looking forward to the next 12 months”.

The remaining class of 2019/20 include our House Captains: Charlie Fletcher, Amelia Gunn (Stephens); Alex Young, Amy Aldwinkle (Hargreaves); Thomas Mellor, Lydia Griffiths (Bonnington); Aaron Spelman, Lucy Edwards (Whittaker) and Joseph Hodgson, Connie Holmes (Mallory). Our appointed Lead Prefects are Robbie Ackerman, Bethan Jones and Molly Sperring.

I was especially pleased to interview two students who are passionate about ensuring antisocial behaviour towards others is challenged at every occasion and so we have appointed Patrick Lycett and Emily Pugh as our student Anti-Bullying Ambassadors and we have tasked them with working with us to achieve the Diana Award next year.

Mrs Pearson, Headteacher

Posted by marchesadmin on 24th June 2019, under Marches

Previous Post:
Next Post: