House System

The five house names come from Everest climbers’ surnames – Mallory (the first British person to get onto the mountain), Bonington (the leader of the first successful team to reach the summit via the South West face), Stephens (the first British woman to reach the summit), Hargreaves (the first British woman to reach the summit alone and without supplementary oxygen) and Whittaker (the first disabled British person to reach the summit, climbing without a right foot).

Students across years 7 – 11 are divided into the 5 houses, with an equal mix of houses in each year group. Students within each year group are divided into 10-12 tutor groups. Whenever we have a house competition, students will compete in their tutor group, alongside the other tutor group in their own year, but also with the tutor groups in the other years.

Here at The Marches School, we strongly believe that this provides students with an increased sense of belonging. Students remain with the same group right the way through school; as they become older, their roles and responsibilities change and they will find themselves acting as mentors and role models for the younger students. As a large school, we are always looking for ways to further support and nurture our students and the house system has proved an effective system to further enhance the ‘family’ feeling already so strong at the school.

Each house is assigned a Staff Leader, a Student Leader and a Deputy. Their roles and responsibilities are to lead their houses, with the ‘Student Voice’ a valued and respected tool for development. Throughout the year, students take part in a range of activities from sports to festive-themed events, each providing members with the opportunity to win points for their houses. This element of ‘healthy’ competition is essential to a child’s development and all students are encouraged to take part. House points can be tracked on the school website and, at the end of each academic year, the house with the most points is crowned ‘House Champion’.

Past Champions:

2013-14: Whittaker

2014-15: Mallory

2015-16: Bonington

2016-17: Bonington

2017-18: Bonington

2018-19: Mallory

2019-20: Mallory

2020-21: Stephens